AAPS Main Site  |  Past and Future Meetings
American Association of Plastic Surgeons
Program & Abstracts

AAPS Program and Abstracts

7:00 am
Continental Breakfast
8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Reconstructive Symposium
4:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Symposium Reception
SUNDAY, MAY 3, 2020
7:00 am
Continental Breakfast
7:30 am - 3:00 pm
Aesthetic Symposium:
AAPS 99th Annual Meeting Opening Ceremonies
4:00 pm
Welcome & Introduction
Donald R. Mackay, M.D.

Joseph E. Losee, M.D.
Chair, Program Committee
4:15 pm
Introduction of New Members
W. P. Andrew Lee, M.D.
4:25 pm
Introduction of Cannon Medical Student Attendees
David Larson, M.D.
AAPS Past President
4:30 pm
James Barrett Brown Award and Presentation
Introduced by: Robert J. Havlik, M.D..
Vice President
4:40 pm
John D. Constable International Traveling Fellowship
Introduced by: William G. Austen, Jr., M.D.
Chair, Constable Fellowship Committee
4:45 pm
Clinician of the Year
Introduced by: Donald R. Mackay, M.D.
5:05 pm
Honorary and Distinguished Fellow Awards
Introduced by: Nicholas Vedder, M.D.
Chair, Honors Committee
5:10 pm
Announcement of AAPS Academic Scholar
Introduced by: Russell Reid, M.D.
Chair, Research and Education Committee
5:15 pm
Announcement of AAPS Research Achievement Awards
Introduced by: Russell Reid, M.D.
Chair, Research and Education Committee
5:20 pm
Presentation of 2019 Leonard R. Rubin AAPS Award Paper
Introduced by: Linda G. Phillips, M.D.

Ti-Sheng Chang Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Award
Introduced by: Donald R. Mackay, M.D.
5:25 pm
BCRF/AAPS Young Clinician Award
Introduced by: Christopher Forrest, M.D.
Chair, Scientific Program Awards Committee
5:30 pm
Introduction of EURAPS Officers

Presentation of EURAPS Award Paper
"Phase 1 Lymfactin® Study: Safety of Combined Adenoviral VEGF-C and Lymph Node Transfer Treatment for Upper Extremity Lymphedema"
Paulina Hartiala, M.D.
Turku University Hospital, Turku, Finland
5:45 pm
Presentation of the 2020 ACAPS Robert Goldwyn Mentor of the Year Award
Anthony Smith, M.D.
5:50 pm
Presidential Address
Donald R. Mackay, M.D.

Introduced by: Joseph E. Losee, M.D.; Greg Ash, M.D.
6:45 pm-8:00 pm
Welcome Reception & Poster Competition
7:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Cannon Dinner
MONDAY, MAY 4, 2020
7:00 am
Continental Breakfast
7:00 am
Breakfast Breakout Sessions
  1. Resident Aesthetic Education
    Galen Perdikis, M.D.; Felmont F. Eaves, III, M.D.
  2. Retirement
    James W. May, Jr., M.D.; David L. Larson, M.D.
  3. Technology: Tools and Traps
    Heather Furnas, M.D.; Grant Stevens, M.D.; Sam Lin, M.D.; Arin Greene, M.D.; David Song, M.D.
8:00 am
ACAPS Panel: "Competency Based Training - Building the Plane While we Fly It"
Moderator: Robert Weber, M.D.
Panelists: John Potts, M.D.; Vu Nguyen, M.D.; Scott Lifchez, M.D.; Adizeh Momoh, M.D.
9:00 am
AAPS Academic Scholar Presentations
Summer Hansen, M.D. PhD.
AAPS/Furnas Academic Scholar

Theodore Kung, M.D.
AAPS/PSF Academic Scholar
9:15 am - 10:00 am
Kiskadden Lecturer
Introduced by: Donald R. Mackay, M.D.
10:00 am
Coffee Break
10:30 am
Scientific Session I: Craniofacial/Pediatrics
Moderator: David A. Staffenberg, M.D.
Secretary: Brian T. Andrews, M.D.
11:30 am
Scientific Session II: Aesthetic Face
Moderator: Mark B. Constantian, M.D.
Secretary: Felmont F. Eaves, III, M.D.
12:30 pm
ADJOURN for Lunch
12:30 pm
Women Surgeons' Luncheon
1:30 pm
PANEL: Social Media: The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly
Moderator: Joseph E. Losee, M.D.; David H. Song, M.D.
Panelists: Nicole Jarrett, M.D.; Heather Furnas, M.D.; Anu Bajaj, M.D.; Rod Rohrich, M.D.
2:45 pm
Scientific Session III: Aesthetic Breast/Body Contouring
Moderator: Julie E. Park, M.D.
4:45 pm
Coffee Break
5:00 pm
Scientific Session IV: Innovations - Short Papers
Moderator: Steven Buchman, M.D.
Secretary: Jerrod N. Keith, M.D.
6:30 pm
7:00 pm
President's Reception*
Black Tie Requested
8:15 pm
Awards and Presentation
TUESDAY, MAY 5, 2020
7:00 am
Continental Breakfast
7:00 am
Past President's Breakfast
7:00 am
Breakfast Breakout Sessions
  1. Integrating Pre-Surgical Wellness and Immunonutrition into Plastic Surgery: A Jump-start on ERAS
    William A. Wooden, M.D.; Corianne Rogers, M.D.
  2. Leveraging your AAPS Membership: Mentorship from Medical School Through Retirement
    Arun Gosain, M.D.; Kavitha Ragnathan, M.D.; Ash Patel, M.D.; David L. Larson, M.D.
  3. Resident Education in the 21st Century: Best Practices
    Robert Weber, M.D.; William Casey, M.D.; Joe Cary, M.D.; Adeyiza Momoh, M.D.; Michael Neumeister, M.D.; Jeff Kozlow, M.D.; Julia Corcoran, M.D.; Christian Vercler, M.D.; Steve Kasten, M.D.; Janice Lalikos, M.D.; Anthony Smith, M.D.
8:00 am
Scientific Session V: Hand and Extremity
Moderator: Steven L. Moran, M.D.
Secretary: Simon G. Talbot, M.D.
9:00 am
Scientific Session VI: General Reconstruction
Moderator: Patrick B. Garvey, M.D.
10:15 am
Lymphedema Update
David Chang, M.D.
10:25 am
Coffee Break
10:45 am
Scientific Session VII: Basic Science Research
Moderator: Arin Greene, M.D.
Secretary: Derrick C. Wan, M.D.
11:45 am
Scientific Session VIII: Education/Practice Management/Other
Moderator: Robert A. Weber, M.D.
Secretary: Devra B. Becker, M.D.
12:30 pm
Business Meeting Luncheon
12:30 pm
Young Faculty Forum
1:30 pm
Scientific Session IX: Breast Reconstruction
Moderator: Michelle A. Manahan, M.D.
Secretary: Scott T. Hollenbeck, M.D.
2:30 pm
Coffee Break
2:45 pm
Scientific Session X: Outcomes and New Techniques / New Horizons
Moderator: Ann R. Schwentker, M.D.
Secretary: Albert H. Chao, M.D.
4:00 pm